Arctic Winter Games 2018: Call for Coaches

NWT Speed Skating invites applications for two coaching positions with Team NWT at the 2018 Arctic Winter Games.

This is an exciting opportunity to join Team NWT at a home Arctic Winter Games in Fort Smith! NWT speed skaters are often associated with success at the Arctic Winter Games but, more than anything, this event is about providing a focused, fun and memorable multi-sport games experience to our young athletes – and our coaches, too.

Please download the NWT Speed Skating Selection Policy and 2018 Arctic Winter Games Technical Package before applying.

Coaches must:

• be Canadian citizens or permanent residents, or eligible for and able to demonstrate active pursuit of Canadian citizenship;
• have been continuously resident in the Northwest Territories for at least six months prior to the start of the event for which they are selected; or
• if attending school or otherwise temporarily resident outside the NWT, be able to demonstrate to NWTASSA’s satisfaction that the territory remains their home residence;
• be members in good standing with NWTASSA;
• agree to be bound by the NWTASSA Code of Conduct and any other applicable (e.g. Team NWT) code of conduct;
• once selected, hold regular training sessions and maintain communication with athletes representing the Northwest Territories.

Applications will be considered by NWTASSA according to the following criteria:

• Speed skating qualifications achieved to date;
• Experience as a coach, manager and/or athlete;
• Active involvement with speed skating in the NWT;
• Fulfilment of all eligibility criteria in this policy and the 2018 AWG Technical Package.

To apply:

Coaches must use this form to apply online, or may print the form and submit a paper version to NWT Speed Skating, Box 2664, Yellowknife, X1A 2P9.

Successful applicants are expected to be available to coach at both the Arctic Winter Games (Fort Smith, March 18-24, 2018, excluding travel days) and Territorial Trials (Yellowknife, January 18-20, 2018, excluding travel days).

Applications must be received by 10pm mountain time on Wednesday, December 6, 2017.