NWT Speed Skating appoints coaches for 2018 Arctic Winter Games

NWT Speed Skating is proud to announce Shane Clark and Jeanne Yurris as the territory’s coaching staff for the 2018 Arctic Winter Games on home ice in Fort Smith, NT.

Shane has coached the NWT’s short track speed skaters at the Arctic Winter Games since 2008, and brings more than two decades’ experience as a coach for both the Yellowknife club and at territorial level. He is also the NWT’s lead coach for the 2019 Canada Winter Games program.

Jeanne, a two-time Arctic Winter Games speed skater for the NWT, will make her competitive coaching debut. Jeanne is an assistant coach with the Special Olympics speed skating program, served as mission staff for Team NWT at the 2017 Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg, and represented the NWT as an athlete at the 2011 Canada Winter Games in Halifax.

NWT Speed Skating thanks all those who applied for their time and efforts. Further coaching positions will be assigned in the coming weeks as we prepare for an exciting start to 2018, featuring not only the Arctic Winter Games – to which speed skating returns as a sport after missing out in 2016 – but also the Canada West Championships.