2023 AWG

The 2023 AWG were held in the Wood Buffalo Region of Alberta on January 29 to February 4, 2023.

Team NT collected a total of 25 medals (12 gold, 10 silver, 7 bronze) in individual distances, broke two records in the Junior Male 500m and 777m distances, and collected 4 medals (3 gold, 1 silver) in the 3000m relays for the Junior Male, Junior Female, Juvenile Male, and Juvenile Female categories. All Team NT skaters earned a minimum of one medal. Additionally, one team member received a Fair Play Pin while another received special recognition from the Officials for sportsmanship.

The 2023 Team NT Arctic Winter Games Short Track Speed Skating Team included:

  • Sage Acorn, Yellowknife
  • Byran Clinton, Yellowknife,
  • Lochlan Dunn, Yellowknife
  • Kaleb Picek, Inuvik
  • Maica McEachern, Yellowknife (injured, unable to attend)
  • Rebecca Messier, Yellowknife
  • Erika Pollard, Yellowknife
  • Kali Skauge, Yellowknife
  • Logan Doll, Yellowknife (injured, unable to attend)
  • Seiya McEachern, Yellowknife
  • Peter Mahon, Yellowknife
  • Marton Nakano-Mazan, Inuvik
  • Lachlan Conway-Adams, Inuvik
  • Brigid Murphy, Yellowknife
  • Kara Nelson, Yellowknife
  • Morgan Nelson, Yellowknife
  • Amaria Tanche-Hanna, Fort Simpson
  • Payton Bennett, Fort Simpson
  • Coach Phillipe Breton, Yellowknife
  • Coach Madison Pilling, Fort Simpson
  • Coach Austin Miller, Yellowknife
  • Coach Valerie Gendron, Fort Simpson

The protocol for the 2023 AWG Trials can be found here.