Arctic Winter Games

The 2024 Arctic Winter Games Trials will be held in Yellowknife from Dec 14-16, 2023. Travel days will be Dec 13 &17, 2023, practice ice will be on Dec 14 from 5-7pm, and races will be on Dec 15 from 5-9pm and on Dec 16 from 7am to 12pm.

The 2024 Arctic Winter Games will held in the Mat-Su Borough, Alaska on March 10-16, 2024, hosted by the Mat-Su 2024 Arctic Winter Games Host Society.

The Arctic Winter Games (AWG) are a high-profile circumpolar sport competition for northern and arctic athletes held every two years. The first Games were held in Yellowknife in 1970, with 500 participants from the Yukon, NWT, and Alaska. Participants now come from Alaska, Northern Alberta, Yukon, Nunavut, Nunavik, NWT, Greenland, Finland, and Norway.

The 2023 AWG were held in the Wood Buffalo Region of Alberta on January 29 to February 4, 2023. The 2023 Team NT Arctic Winter Games Short Track Speed Skating Team included:

  • Sage Acorn, Yellowknife
  • Byran Clinton, Yellowknife,
  • Lochlan Dunn, Yellowknife
  • Kaleb Picek, Inuvik
  • Maica McEachern, Yellowknife
  • Rebecca Messier, Yellowknife
  • Erika Pollard, Yellowknife
  • Kali Skauge, Yellowknife
  • Logan Doll, Yellowknife
  • Seiya McEachern, Yellowknife
  • Peter Mahon, Yellowknife
  • Marton Nakano-Mazan, Inuvik
  • Alternate: Lachlan Conway-Adams, Inuvik
  • Brigid Murphy, Yellowknife
  • Kara Nelson, Yellowknife
  • Morgan Nelson, Yellowknife
  • Amaria Tanche-Hanna, Fort Simpson
  • Alternate: Payton Bennett, Fort Simpson
  • Coach Phillipe Breton, Yellowknife
  • Coach Madison Pilling, Fort Simpson
  • Coach Austin Miller, Yellowknife
  • Coach Valerie Gendron, Fort Simpson